Sunday, Feb 5, 2023 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 26,400,000
2 Astrid Øyre Sli... 25,587,856
3 Ida Dahl 25,490,319
4 Andreas Nygaard 25,090,602
5 Tord Asle Gjerd... 24,584,931
6 Kasper Stadaas 24,454,035
7 Max Novak 24,254,434
8 Johannes Eklöf 24,074,060
9 Britta Johansso... 24,058,203
10 Oskar Kardin 23,980,610
11 Emilie Fleten 23,879,176
12 Stian Hoelgaard 23,789,140
13 Johan Hoel 23,746,548
14 Morten Eide Ped... 23,730,691
15 Herman Paus 23,470,459
16 Karstein Johaug 23,459,624
17 Lina Korsgren 23,111,810
18 Runar Skaug Mat... 22,987,428
19 Torleif Syrstad 22,977,143
20 Magnus Vesterhe... 22,969,272
21 Marcus Johansso... 22,556,320
22 Axel Jutterströ... 22,542,328
23 Thomas Ødegaard... 22,348,199
24 Vetle Thyli 22,272,323
25 Torgeir Sulen H... 22,173,420
26 Chris Andre Jes... 22,054,623
27 Anders Aukland 21,937,881
28 Joar Thele 21,847,272
29 Eddie Edström 21,670,703
30 Klas Nilsson 21,558,881
31 Amund Riege 21,545,798
32 Nils Dahlsten 21,414,282
33 Maxim Vylegzhan... 20,901,270
34 Jiří Pliska 20,563,643
35 Thomas Joly 20,193,563
36 Stanislav Řezáč... 20,142,276
37 Jan Šrail 20,051,940
38 Fabián Štoček... 19,848,958
39 Anikken Gjerde ... 19,803,134
40 Stian Berg 19,712,280
41 Viktor Mäenpää... 19,561,603
42 Patrick Fossum ... 19,511,803
43 Petter Soleng S... 19,490,944
44 Simen Engebrets... 19,178,110
45 Sofie Elebro 19,133,173
46 Mauro Brigadoi 19,098,834
47 Gabriel Höjlind... 18,761,496
48 Alexey Shemiaki... 18,653,161
49 Magni Smedås 18,520,527
50 Kati Roivas 18,388,412
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

Britta Johansson Norgren And Emil Persson Shine At Tartu Maraton

Lager 157 Ski Team dominated Tartu Maraton this morning with stunning solo victories from Britta Johansson Norgren and Emil Persson. 

Photo: Magnus Östh/Visma Ski Classics

Britta Johansson Norgren (Lager 157 Ski Team) ends her career as a Pro Tour skier.

Tartu Maraton in Estonia, the returning race in the Visma Ski Classics Pro Tour Season XII, took place today with a 63-kilometer long-distance race in classic technique and snowy and challenging conditions. 

The women’s race started at 8:50 CET, and an early big front group was formed, but no real action was taken in the first kilometers. With 50km to go, Thea Krokan Murud, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Lina Korsgren, Team Ramudden, tried to break away and got a couple of seconds over the field behind but were soon brought back.  

Before the Harimägi Climb checkpoint at the 17km mark, a group of eight women was formed. Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, took the lead and crossed the Climb first, followed by Lina Korsgren, Team Ramudden, 1.2 seconds back, and Thea Krokan Murud, Lager 157 Ski Team, 8.8 seconds behind. 

After the Climb, Norgren Johansson kept the high pace and got a gap. With 40km to go, she was 40 seconds in front of the chasing group.

When the men overpassed the women’s field, the group dynamic changed, and Krokan Murud took advantage of the men’s slipstream, closing the gap to Johansson Norgren, with the chasing group, formed by Lina Korsgren, Ida Dahl, Emilie Fleten, and Magni Smedås, more than a minute behind.

In the Palu Sprint point at the 46.4km mark, Johansson Norgren showed her strength and crossed the line first, followed by Krokan Murud, with the chasing group more than 2 minutes and 40 seconds behind with Smedås crossing in the third position.

With about 13km to go, Krokan Murud could not keep the pace and left Johansson Norgren alone in the front. With nearly 10km to go, the gap was over 30 seconds to Krokan Murud and more than 3 minutes over the chasing group.

In the end, Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team won Tartu Maraton in beautiful style with a time of 2:50:44.3. Thea Krokan Murud, Lager 157 Ski Team, finished in second place, 1 minute and 14 seconds behind, followed by Magni Smedås, Team Eksjöhus, in the third spot, 2 minutes and 27 seconds back. 

The men’s race started at 9:00 CET, and there was no decisive action besides Team Nordic Expérience controlling the big group of Pro Tour skiers and trying to get a breakaway before the Climb checkpoint.

Heading to the Climb checkpoint, Ermil Vokuev, Russian Winter Team, took the lead and crossed first, followed by Tord Asle Gjerdalen, Team XPND Fuel, in second, and Thomas Joly, Team Nordic Expérience, in third.

After the Harimägi Climb, Team Eksjöhus with Morten Eide Pedersen, and Lager 157 Ski Team with Emil Persson, were active in the front and stretching the field with a high pace towards the sprint competition.

With 30km to go, Emil Persson attacked solo and soon got a gap of 15 seconds over the now-diminished chasing group. 

Still solo at the Sprint in Palu, Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, crossed the line first. The chasing group crossed 16 seconds behind, with Ermil Vokuev, Russian Winter Team, in second, and Marcus Johansson, Lager 157 Ski Team, in third.   

Over the kilometers, Persson’s gap was still growing. With 8.8km to go, he had over 2 minutes of advantage and had put in check the chasing group behind.  

In the end, Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, showed superior performance and a great demonstration of power during his solo breakaway to win Tartu Maraton, the ninth stage of Visma Ski Classics Season XII.

Behind, we could watch a beautiful battle for the last places of the podium. Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge, controlled the big group and had a powerful sprint to finish in second place, 2 minutes and 52 seconds behind the winner, followed by Max Novak, Team Ramudden, in the third position.

Tartu Maraton results can be found here.

The next event in Season XII is Vasaloppet. The 90-kilometer classic technique race is the tenth race and third Grand Classics stage in Sweden on March 6. 

As a member of, you get full access to all content on the site and live streaming of Visma Ski Classics events with English commentaries.

When you become part of one of the world’s leading XC ski communities, you will receive many exclusive offers all year round. 

Register HERE as a Member or free Subscriber!

Most read
Become a member now