Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 26,400,000
2 Ida Dahl 25,634,041
3 Astrid Øyre Sli... 25,587,856
4 Andreas Nygaard 25,001,087
5 Tord Asle Gjerd... 24,585,729
6 Kasper Stadaas 24,454,035
7 Emilie Fleten 24,325,898
8 Lina Korsgren 24,261,574
9 Max Novak 24,242,504
10 Oskar Kardin 24,167,787
11 Johannes Eklöf 24,059,635
12 Britta Johansso... 24,058,203
13 Stian Hoelgaard 23,898,052
14 Morten Eide Ped... 23,801,744
15 Johan Hoel 23,746,548
16 Herman Paus 23,352,248
17 Karstein Johaug 23,295,531
18 Torleif Syrstad 23,088,817
19 Magnus Vesterhe... 23,035,079
20 Runar Skaug Mat... 23,016,684
21 Vetle Thyli 22,626,609
22 Marcus Johansso... 22,602,890
23 Maxim Vylegzhan... 22,501,703
24 Thomas Ødegaard... 22,141,107
25 Anders Aukland 22,106,993
26 Axel Jutterströ... 22,101,993
27 Joar Thele 22,089,606
28 Torgeir Sulen H... 21,912,117
29 Eddie Edström 21,670,703
30 Klas Nilsson 21,524,247
31 Chris Andre Jes... 21,473,447
32 Ermil Vokuev 21,432,680
33 Nils Dahlsten 21,328,102
34 Jiří Pliska 21,021,748
35 Amund Riege 21,005,359
36 Stanislav Řezáč... 20,468,085
37 Gabriel Höjlind... 20,190,935
38 Jan Šrail 20,176,199
39 Stian Berg 19,880,354
40 Fabián Štoček... 19,822,756
41 Petter Soleng S... 19,625,489
42 Thomas Joly 19,599,928
43 Sofie Elebro 19,544,075
44 Viktor Mäenpää... 19,499,879
45 Mauro Brigadoi 19,418,543
46 Anikken Gjerde ... 19,342,483
47 Simen Engebrets... 19,178,110
48 Bastien Poirrie... 19,138,063
49 Patrick Fossum ... 18,844,680
50 Alexey Shemiaki... 18,653,161
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

Who Will Win Årefjällsloppet?

This Saturday’s Årefjällsloppet in Sweden is the 12th stage in the Visma Ski Classics Season XII. The longest Pro Tour race in history is expected to have a lot of tactical play and challenging weather conditions. Looking at the start list, here are some favorites.

Photo: Magnus Östh/Ski Classics

Astrid Øyre Slind is changing her skis brand.

The Pro Tour race starts and finishes in Vålådalen. Women start at 7:30 CET and men at 8:15 CET. With three laps, the race will be 104km long with a total ascent of 2588m, and there will be two sprints and two climbs’ checkpoints: Sprint 1 at 15km and Sprint 2 at 51km, both at Vålan; Climb 1 at 35km and Climb 2 at 71km, both at Ottfjället.

Vasaloppet and Birkebeinerrennet winners Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, and Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge, are firm favorites to win the race tomorrow due to their impressive performances on the last Pro Tour races.

The first woman to win Birkebeinerrennet without wax and double poling to an impressive victory, Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, is a favorite to win the race tomorrow due to her remarkable form in the women’s field in the last races. 

Øyre Slind is one of the favorites, but there are at least three more potential podium skiers. We can mention Emilie Fleten, Team XPND Fuel, who had a solid performance last weekend at Birkebeinerrennet, Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, who is looking for top performance and defend the yellow bib, and Ida Dahl, Team Ramudden, who is looking forward to being back on top form and regain the Champion bib. 

Keep attention to the strong names of Sofie Elebro, Team Næringsbanken, Anniken Gjerde Alnes, Team Ragde Charge, Laila Kveli, Team Engcon, Thea Krokan Murud, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Lina Korsgren, Team Ramudden, who is back after a covid infection.

For the men’s race, it seems that we have a more open game and various contenders.

After showing a high-speed finish again last weekend, Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge, can be considered one of the favorites.  

Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, is also one of the most definite favorites. Persson is now looking forward to tomorrow’s battle with rising form and craving for another win. Team Ramudden Pro Tour skiers Max Novak and Johannes Eklöf are solid names for the top spots at Årefjällsloppet and can get good results.

In addition, we can anticipate some outstanding performance and a good fight for top places from Kasper Stadaas and Oskar Kardin, both from Team Ragde Charge. 

Let’s not forget about Tord Asle Gjerdalen, Team XPND Fuel, Stian Hoelgaard, Team Curira, Magnus Vesterheim, Team Kaffebryggeriet, and Axel Jutterström, Team Eksjöhus, to name a few of the top Pro Tour skiers.

Expect many battles all the way to the Vålådalen finish, as the Pro Tour skiers fight to win Season XII’s 12th stage.

Don’t miss out on the event, available on Ski Classics Play. Updated starting times: women start at 8:35 CET and the men at 8:30 CET. 


  • Location: Vålådalen, Sweden
  • Date: Saturday, March 26
  • Start Time: Women 8:35 CET / Men 8:30 CET
  • Distance: 104km Classic Technique
  • Visma Ski Classics Sprint: 15km and 51km, both at Vålan
  • Visma Ski Classics Climbs: 35km and 71km, both at Ottfjället
  • Total Climbing: 2588m
  • Website: Årefjällsloppet 

Årefjällsloppet program, start lists, and live streaming on SC Play can be found here.



Årefjällsloppet Course Map 


Årefjällsloppet Course Profile 


Next up in the Visma Ski Classics is Årefjällsloppet. The 104-kilometer classic race takes place in Sweden on March 26, 2022.

As a member of, you get full access to all content on the site and live streaming of Visma Ski Classics Pro Tour events with English commentary.

When you become part of one of the world’s leading XC ski communities, you will receive many exclusive offers all year round.

Register HERE as a Member.

Most read
Become a member now