Saturday, Dec 9, 2023 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 26,400,000
2 Astrid Øyre Sli... 26,074,640
3 Ida Dahl 25,962,653
4 Andreas Nygaard 25,204,937
5 Kasper Stadaas 24,731,571
6 Max Novak 24,408,540
7 Johan Hoel 24,239,242
8 Tord Asle Gjerd... 24,225,126
9 Johannes Eklöf 23,955,612
10 Emilie Fleten 23,861,586
11 Stian Hoelgaard 23,820,021
12 Oskar Kardin 23,698,180
13 Britta Johansso... 23,577,507
14 Herman Paus 23,515,423
15 Karstein Johaug 23,444,611
16 Magnus Vesterhe... 23,224,579
17 Morten Eide Ped... 23,141,153
18 Runar Skaug Mat... 23,109,109
19 Amund Riege 23,044,039
20 Thomas Ødegaard... 22,858,194
21 Torleif Syrstad 22,823,158
22 Axel Jutterströ... 22,774,131
23 Marcus Johansso... 22,386,541
24 Magni Smedås 22,272,121
25 Petter Stakston 22,264,110
26 Eddie Edström 22,191,731
27 Chris Andre Jes... 22,150,822
28 Torgeir Sulen H... 21,672,716
29 Thomas Joly 21,571,165
30 Nils Dahlsten 21,377,545
31 Klas Nilsson 21,163,179
32 Joar Thele 20,952,782
33 Anders Aukland 20,900,567
34 Patrick Fossum ... 20,725,034
35 Vetle Thyli 20,533,206
36 Jan Šrail 20,312,327
37 Alvar Myhlback 20,273,712
38 Fabián Štoček... 20,037,927
39 Anikken Gjerde ... 19,974,875
40 Jeremy Royer 19,887,147
41 Stian Berg 19,871,502
42 Karolina Hedens... 19,660,713
43 Alfred Buskqvis... 19,528,517
44 Einar Kalland-O... 19,510,307
45 Kati Roivas 19,340,721
46 Lina Korsgren 19,332,942
47 Silje Øyre Slin... 19,228,754
48 Stanislav Řezáč... 19,025,752
49 Juuso Mäkelä 18,981,645
50 Jenny Larsson 18,963,798
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

Stadaas and Øyre Slind Winners of Årefjällsloppet

Årefjällsloppet, the 12th stage in the Visma Ski Classics Season XII, took place today in Sweden. With great performances, Kasper Stadaas, Team Ragde Charge, and Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, won the 62km long-distance race.

Photo: Magnus Östh/Visma Ski Classics

After two changes of course length due to challenging weather conditions during the week, today, the men started at 8:30 CET and the women at 8:35 CET. We saw a thrilling race among men and women despite the reduced distance.

Årefjällsloppet Men’s Race

Known for having a bit of everything a long-distance skier could hope for, with demanding climbs, flat sections, beautiful sceneries, and a great atmosphere, Årefjällsloppet started fast from the gun.

With just over 10km into the race, the field quickly diminished with about 19 strong skiers in front, with Runar Skaug Mathisen, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Stian Berg, Team Kaffebryggeriet, stretching the group and aiming for the Sprint of the day. 

At the only Sprint checkpoint of the day, 18km into the race, Stian Berg, Team Kaffebryggeriet, attacked the group and crossed first, followed by Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Oskar Kardin, Team Ragde Charge.

Johan Hoel, Team Ragde Charge, and Runar Skaug Mathisen, Lager 157 Ski Team, attacked with 45km to go. They got a couple of seconds from the field, playing the game, preparing the race for their leaders, and shrinking the front group.

At the first Climb checkpoint of the day at the 30.2km mark, 14 skiers passed within 14.8 seconds, with Johannes Eklöf, Team Ramudden, followed by Tord Asle Gjerdalen, Team XPND Fuel, and Axel Jutterström, Team Eksjöhus.  

In between the two Climb points, the race was on fire, with Runar Skaug Mathisen, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Kasper Stadaas, Team Ragde Charge, attacking and quickly getting 29 seconds of a gap over the reduced chasing field of 8 skiers at the bottom of the second climb point.

With 10km to go, the second Climb checkpoint saw Runar Skaug Mathisen, Lager 157 Ski Team, crossing first and getting maximum points, followed by Kasper Stadaas, Team Ragde Charge, and Johannes Eklöf, Team Ramudden, in third, 7.7 seconds behind.

With about 8km to go, in the rolling sections towards the finish, Stadaas could attack and create a gap of 7 seconds over Skaug Mathisen and 16 seconds over the group.

With about 2.5km to go, Stadaas looked strong and increased his lead, checking the chasing group and leaving the group fighting for the last podium place.

At the end, Kasper Stadaas, Team Ragde Charge, won Årefjällsloppet after an impressive breakaway. Second place went to Runar Skaug Mathisen, Lager 157 Ski Team, 34.7 seconds back. Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, sprinted for the third position on the podium, 54.0 seconds behind the winner.

Årefjällsloppet Women’s Race

In the women’s race, which started at 8:35 CET, the speed was high right out from the start, with a big group leading the race.

After just 4km into the race, Ida Dahl, Team Ramudden, had problems with her skis and was already struggling at the beginning of the race. Meanwhile, Emilie Fleten, Team XPND Fuel, controlled the pace and stretched the field.

Soon, a small group of skiers was formed, and within 10km into the race, four skiers were in front: Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, Emilie Fleten, Team XPND Fuel, Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, and Lina Korsgren, Team Ramudden.

In the Sprint Checkpoint, at the 18km mark, Lina Korsgren crossed first, getting maximum points, followed by Astrid Øyre Slind and Britta Johansson Norgren. 

With 33km to go, Øyre Slind pushed the pace and got a considerable gap in front of Korsgren and Johansson Norgren, with Fleten some more seconds back. Ida Dahl reacted after her ski problem but could reduce her deficit to 1 minute and 7 seconds.  

At the first Climb point, Astrid Øyre Slind crossed first, getting the maximum points, 44.8 seconds ahead of Britta Johansson Norgren and 55.1 seconds from Emilie Fleten. 

With 23km to go, Dahl could close the gap to Johansson Norgren and Fleten, showing that her top form is back, despite her technical problem at the beginning of the race.

At the second Climb of the day, within 10km to go, Astrid Øyre Slind crossed first, followed by Britta Johansson Norgre in second, and Ida Dahl, Team Ramudden, in the third position, both more than 4 minutes behind the leader.

From there, the women’s race was about Øyre Slind in the lead and the chasers behind. With about 5km to go, Øyre Slind had a gap of 4:15 over Johansson Norgren and 4:25 over Dahl.

In the end, Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, had a perfect solo breakaway, winning this year’s Årefjällsloppet. 

Second place went to Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, 4:18.3 back. In the third position, Ida Dahl, Team Ramudden completed the podium, 4:49.0 behind the winner.

Årefjällsloppet results can be found here.

Next up in the Visma Ski Classics is Reistadløpet. The 50-kilometer classic long-distance race takes place in Setermoen-Bardufoss, Norway, on April 2, 2022.

As a member of, you get full access to all content on the site and live streaming of Visma Ski Classics Pro Tour events with English commentary.

When you become part of one of the world’s leading XC ski communities, you will receive many exclusive offers all year round.

Register HERE as a Member.

Most read
Photo: Metod Močnik
Photo: Metod Močnik

Ski-Willy Marathon Team Austria during a training camp in Sportgastein.

Ski-Willy Marathon Team Austria completes successful training camp in Gastein

Winter has descended upon the Austrian Alps, bringing favorable snow conditions to the Ski Classics destination Sportgastein as early as November. Seizing this opportunity, the Pro Team Ski-Willy Marathon Team Austria held a training camp last weekend amidst the breathtaking...

Become a member now