Wednesday, Feb 1, 2023 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 26,400,000
2 Astrid Øyre Sli... 25,587,856
3 Ida Dahl 25,490,319
4 Andreas Nygaard 25,090,602
5 Tord Asle Gjerd... 24,584,931
6 Kasper Stadaas 24,454,035
7 Max Novak 24,254,434
8 Johannes Eklöf 24,074,060
9 Britta Johansso... 24,058,203
10 Oskar Kardin 23,980,610
11 Emilie Fleten 23,879,176
12 Stian Hoelgaard 23,789,140
13 Johan Hoel 23,746,548
14 Morten Eide Ped... 23,730,691
15 Herman Paus 23,470,459
16 Karstein Johaug 23,459,624
17 Lina Korsgren 23,111,810
18 Runar Skaug Mat... 22,987,428
19 Torleif Syrstad 22,977,143
20 Magnus Vesterhe... 22,969,272
21 Marcus Johansso... 22,556,320
22 Axel Jutterströ... 22,542,328
23 Thomas Ødegaard... 22,348,199
24 Vetle Thyli 22,272,323
25 Torgeir Sulen H... 22,173,420
26 Chris Andre Jes... 22,054,623
27 Anders Aukland 21,937,881
28 Joar Thele 21,847,272
29 Eddie Edström 21,670,703
30 Klas Nilsson 21,558,881
31 Amund Riege 21,545,798
32 Nils Dahlsten 21,414,282
33 Maxim Vylegzhan... 20,901,270
34 Jiří Pliska 20,563,643
35 Thomas Joly 20,193,563
36 Stanislav Řezáč... 20,142,276
37 Jan Šrail 20,051,940
38 Fabián Štoček... 19,848,958
39 Anikken Gjerde ... 19,803,134
40 Stian Berg 19,712,280
41 Viktor Mäenpää... 19,561,603
42 Patrick Fossum ... 19,511,803
43 Petter Soleng S... 19,490,944
44 Simen Engebrets... 19,178,110
45 Sofie Elebro 19,133,173
46 Mauro Brigadoi 19,098,834
47 Gabriel Höjlind... 18,761,496
48 Alexey Shemiaki... 18,653,161
49 Magni Smedås 18,520,527
50 Kati Roivas 18,388,412
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

Andreas Nygaard and Astrid Øyre Slind Winners of Vasaloppet 2022

Vasaloppet’s tenth stage in the Visma Ski Classics and the third Grand Classics event, Season XII, took place today in Sweden. With superior performances, Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge, and Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, won the 90km long-distance race.

Photo: Magnus Östh/Visma Ski Classics

Andreas Nygaard (Team Ragde Charge) won Vasaloppet on two slices of white bread.

In sunny weather and fast conditions, the men and women started together in Sälen at 8:00 CET. The action started early, and there was a thrilling race among both the men and women. 

Vasaloppet Men’s Race

In the men’s race, Herman Paus, Team Ramudden, and Tord Asle Gjerdalen, Team XPND Fuel, took the reins, stretching the field on the first climb and forming an early group of 12 skiers in front.

Herman Paus crossed first at the first hill Climb checkpoint, followed by Tord Asle Gjerdalen and Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge. Some kilometers later, the group rejoined, and there was a big leading group among the men. 

At the first Visma Ski Classics Sprint at Mångsbodarna, 50 skiers passed after 24km within 11 seconds, with Stian Berg, Team Kaffebryggeriet taking maximum points, followed by Jan Šrail and Isac Holmström, both from Vltava Fund Ski Team. 

At the second Visma Ski Classics Sprint point at Evertsberg, within 47km into the race, 30 skiers crossed within 26 seconds, with Novak crossing first, followed by Persson and Paus.  

In the fast sections after Evertsberg, the pace started to pick up, and at Oxberg, with 28km left, 23 skiers were in the leading group within 14 seconds, with Mikael Gunnulfsen, Team Koteng Eidissen, in front. 

When the group reached Hökberg, the field was still strong, and with 10km to go, Team Ragde Charge, Team Ramudden, and Team Koteng Eidissen were trying their luck on the front.

At Eldris, with 9km to go, the field was reduced to 17 strong skiers, with Emil Persson leading the pack and all the remaining skiers alert to any possible breakaway.

With about 4km to go, Team Ragde Charge was on the offensive with Karstein Johaug and Anders Aukland, no one could get a gap, and the race was to be decided on the final sprint. 

At the last kilometer before the finish, Team Ragde Charge had three skiers in the front, preparing the sprint finish for their team leader. In the end, the battle for the win was decided on the straight finish, with Andreas Nygaard, Team Ragde Charge, winning Vasaloppet in a superb sprint.

Second place, after a tight fight to the line, went to Emil Persson, Lager 157 Ski Team, 1 second back. A remarkable performance from Axel Jutterström, Team Eksjöhus, granted him the third position on the podium, 1.7 seconds behind the winner.

Vasaloppet Women’s Race

In the women’s race, which also started at 8:00 CET, together with the men, the speed was high right out from the start, with the women trying to hold on to the men’s peloton. 

Soon four skiers formed the first group, with Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, Emilie Fleten, Team XPND Fuel, and Thea Krokan Murud, Lager 157 Ski Team, in that order, crossing the Climb checkpoint, within 12 seconds. Ida Dahl, Team Ramudden, one of the favorites for the day, crossed 1 minute and 25 seconds behind after just 2.6km into the race.

The leading quartet worked well together, and Krokan Murud crossed the Mångsbodarna Visma Ski Classics Sprint at the 24km mark, first, followed by Fleten and Øyre Slind, with Dahl crossing in ninth position more than four minutes behind. 

At the second Sprint point at Evertsberg, within 47km into the race, Britta Johansson Norgren and Astrid Øyre Slind crossed first and second and were 3 minutes ahead of the course time record. 

With a gap of 39.2 seconds, Emilie Fleten crossed in third, with Thea Krokan Murud following 1 minute and 4 seconds behind the leader. Lina Korsgren was already almost 4 minutes behind, and Ida Dahl was more than 6 minutes back.

When the leading duo reached Oxberg, they had a lead of 1 minute and 20 seconds over Fleten, and 3 minutes and 49 seconds ahead of the time record. 

The action between the leaders started after Oxberg when Øyre Slind got a gap over Johansson Norgren, reaching 23 seconds with 23km left to the race and growing. 

From there, the women’s race was about Astrid Øyre Slind in the lead and the chasers behind.

At Hökberg, Øyre Slind looked strong and increased the lead to 1 minute and 8 seconds over Johansson Norgren and more than 3 minutes over Fleten. 

In the end, Astrid Øyre Slind, Team Koteng Eidissen, paced herself perfectly to win this year’s Vasaloppet in superior performance, setting a new course time record of 3:50:06.4.

Second place went to Britta Johansson Norgren, Lager 157 Ski Team, 2:47.1 back. Emilie Fleten, Team XPND Fuel, completed the podium in the third position, 4:22.1 behind the winner.

Vasaloppet results can be found here.

Next up in the Visma Ski Classics is Birkebeinerrennet. The 54-kilometer classic long-distance race takes place in Rena-Lillehammer, Norway, on March 19, 2022.

As a member of, you get full access to all content on the site and live streaming of Visma Ski Classics Pro Tour events with English commentary.

When you become part of one of the world’s leading XC ski communities, you will receive many exclusive offers all year round.

Register HERE as a Member.

Most read
Become a member now