Friday, Dec 1, 2023 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 26,400,000
2 Astrid Øyre Sli... 26,074,640
3 Ida Dahl 25,962,653
4 Andreas Nygaard 25,204,937
5 Kasper Stadaas 24,731,571
6 Max Novak 24,408,540
7 Johan Hoel 24,239,242
8 Tord Asle Gjerd... 24,225,126
9 Johannes Eklöf 23,955,612
10 Emilie Fleten 23,861,586
11 Stian Hoelgaard 23,820,021
12 Oskar Kardin 23,698,180
13 Britta Johansso... 23,577,507
14 Herman Paus 23,515,423
15 Karstein Johaug 23,444,611
16 Magnus Vesterhe... 23,224,579
17 Morten Eide Ped... 23,141,153
18 Runar Skaug Mat... 23,109,109
19 Amund Riege 23,044,039
20 Thomas Ødegaard... 22,858,194
21 Torleif Syrstad 22,823,158
22 Axel Jutterströ... 22,774,131
23 Marcus Johansso... 22,386,541
24 Magni Smedås 22,272,121
25 Petter Stakston 22,264,110
26 Eddie Edström 22,191,731
27 Chris Andre Jes... 22,150,822
28 Torgeir Sulen H... 21,672,716
29 Thomas Joly 21,571,165
30 Nils Dahlsten 21,377,545
31 Klas Nilsson 21,163,179
32 Joar Thele 20,952,782
33 Anders Aukland 20,900,567
34 Patrick Fossum ... 20,725,034
35 Vetle Thyli 20,533,206
36 Jan Šrail 20,312,327
37 Alvar Myhlback 20,273,712
38 Fabián Štoček... 20,037,927
39 Anikken Gjerde ... 19,974,875
40 Jeremy Royer 19,887,147
41 Stian Berg 19,871,502
42 Karolina Hedens... 19,660,713
43 Alfred Buskqvis... 19,528,517
44 Einar Kalland-O... 19,510,307
45 Kati Roivas 19,340,721
46 Lina Korsgren 19,332,942
47 Silje Øyre Slin... 19,228,754
48 Stanislav Řezáč... 19,025,752
49 Juuso Mäkelä 18,981,645
50 Jenny Larsson 18,963,798
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

The FIS Election May Be Invalid

Several national delegations at the FIS Congress are considering filing a legal lawsuit against the FIS over the lack of democratic processes during the election last Thursday.

Photo: Angelika Warmuth/Bildbyrån

Johan Eliasch.

When FIS President Johan Eliasch was to be re-elected president on the last day of the FIS Congress in Milan yesterday, there was an uproar. 

The FIS president is initially elected for four years but must be formally re-elected every year even if there are no other candidates. 

Eliasch was elected president during the digital FIS Congress last spring. The London-based multimillionaire of Swedish origin was already a relatively controversial candidate but won the election in 2021. 

But what the FIS Council had considered a formality would prove very controversial. The FIS Council originally wanted to re-elect Eliasch by acclamation. They were not heard for that. It had to be voted in writing.

Eliasch was re-elected this year with 70 votes out of 126 possible. Several nations left the hall in protest of what they perceived as an undemocratic process.

Croatia Took Action

The Croatian delegate Vedrak Pavlek took the initiative to question the procedures. He pointed out that the election should be formal and secret and demanded that the ballot papers have the necessary options: yes, no, or abstain. 

Pavlek was rejected by FIS election director Stephan Netzle, who said that only ballot papers with the candidate’s name would be accepted. There was no yes or no, and the only option was to abstain. 

“In that case, it is against democratic principles,” Pavlek replied and continued: 

“In this case, the delegates can only vote in favor. Then I ask everyone who agrees with me to leave the hall.” 

Thus, Pavlek and several other delegates left the room, including those from Switzerland, Austria, and Germany. 

The German delegate also expressed dissatisfaction with the re-election. Now they are threatening to go to court to consider the re-election of Eliasch invalid.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

* indicates required

Most read
Become a member now