Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024 Today's Paper
SC Ranking
1 Emil Persson 25,914,004
2 Emilie Fleten 25,906,053
3 Ida Dahl 25,349,402
4 Kasper Stadaas 25,223,899
5 Andreas Nygaard 24,934,569
6 Johan Hoel 24,707,367
7 Max Novak 24,166,685
8 Magni Smedås 24,096,434
9 Thomas Ødegaard... 23,852,025
10 Torleif Syrstad 23,844,654
11 Amund Riege 23,583,626
12 Axel Jutterströ... 23,542,041
13 Eirik Sverdrup ... 23,451,378
14 Runar Skaug Mat... 23,406,779
15 Herman Paus 23,398,617
16 Oskar Kardin 23,295,927
17 Morten Eide Ped... 23,285,882
18 Stian Hoelgaard 23,173,466
19 Alvar Myhlback 23,165,443
20 Petter Stakston 23,082,621
21 Magnus Vesterhe... 22,979,229
22 Karstein Johaug 22,772,809
23 Tord Asle Gjerd... 22,630,484
24 Johannes Eklöf 22,542,970
25 Thomas Bing 22,374,724
26 Astrid Øyre Sli... 22,119,196
27 Kati Roivas 21,625,092
28 Jeremy Royer 21,459,378
29 Einar Kalland-O... 21,381,668
30 Anikken Gjerde ... 21,371,471
31 Silje Øyre Slin... 21,131,436
32 Nils Dahlsten 21,036,730
33 Klas Nilsson 20,963,902
34 Alfred Buskqvis... 20,959,327
35 Eddie Edström 20,918,257
36 Thomas Joly 20,769,655
37 Torgeir Sulen H... 20,750,282
38 Karolina Hedens... 20,747,023
39 Jenny Larsson 20,746,503
40 Marcus Johansso... 20,519,477
41 Johan Tjelle 20,321,169
42 Patrick Fossum ... 20,194,014
43 Petter Northug 20,160,567
44 Fabián Štoček... 20,118,753
45 Ole Jørgen Bruv... 20,102,163
46 Joar Thele 20,023,863
47 Juuso Mäkelä 19,956,551
48 Sofie Elebro 19,681,634
49 Jan Šrail 19,577,269
50 Fredrik Helgest... 19,176,422
Events & Results
Event Country Date
Mobile icon Mobile icon

Falun World Cup: Preview, Start List, And Start Times For The Women’s Sprint Race 

Everything is ready for the sprint race at the Falun World Cup in Sweden. Here is the preview, start list, and start times for the women’s sprint race in freestyle technique.

Photo: Johanna Lundberg/Bildbyrån

Here is the preview, start list, and times for the women's sprint race at the Falun World Cup in Sweden.

Falun World Cup – Women’s Freestyle Sprint – Preview

On Saturday, March 18, the world’s top female cross-country skiers will converge on Falun, Sweden for the women’s sprint freestyle event. The current World Cup standings show Maja Dahlqvist trailing Nadine Fähndrich by just five points. While Dahlqvist has not won a sprint event this World Cup season, she has finished on the podium five times, with four second-place finishes and one third-place finish. In the 2020/21 season, Anamarija Lampic won the sprint crystal globe without having won an individual sprint World Cup event.

In fact, no female cross-country skier has recorded more than four second-place finishes in sprint events in a single season without claiming at least one win. Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen claimed four second places without a win in women’s World Cup sprint events in 2007/08. Only Maiken Caspersen Falla finished runner up in more than four women’s sprint events in a single World Cup season than Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen and Dahlqvist.

Dahlqvist has not won a World Cup sprint event since winning five in a row from February to December 2021. However, Jonna Sundling won the previous women’s World Cup freestyle sprint event in Toblach on February 3. Sundling has finished on the podium in seven of her last eight World Cup sprint starts, including four wins and a first-place finish in Falun last season. The only exception was a seventh-place finish in Les Rousses last January.

Sundling has won seven individual World Cup sprint events, putting her in a tie with Linn Svahn for the second-most individual World Cup sprint wins among Swedish women. Stina Nilsson holds the record with 18 wins. It’s worth noting that Swedish women have won nine of the 12 individual World Cup freestyle events since the start of 2021, with Switzerland and the United States each winning one.

It’s not just Dahlqvist and Sundling in the running, though. Nadine Fähndrich is leading the World Cup sprint standings and can become the first Swiss woman to win a crystal globe. Fähndrich has won three individual World Cup sprint events this season, more than any other woman. Kristine Stavås Skistad has won two of the last three individual sprint World Cups, but those are her only podium finishes in individual sprints.

Finally, Johanna Hagström and Tiril Udnes Weng are still searching for their first ever World Cup individual sprint win. Hagström has four second-place finishes and two third-place finishes, while Weng has one second-place finish and four third-place finishes.

In summary, the women’s sprint freestyle event in Falun, Sweden, on March 18, promises to be an exciting competition. While Dahlqvist and Sundling are strong contenders, Fähndrich, Skistad, Hagström, and Weng could surprise everyone with a win.

Saturday, March 18: Sprint Freestyle (Find more details here)

  • 10:50 CET: Sprint Quali F, Men
  • 10:50 CET: Sprint Quali F, Women 
  • 13:20 CET: Sprint Final F, Men
  • 13:20 CET: Sprint Final F, Women


See below the complete program with facts, start lists, and results for the World Cup in Falun.

FACTS Falun World Cup Season 2022/2023

  • When: Friday, March 17, to Sunday, March 19
  • Who: Elite national skiers
  • Where: Falun, Sweden
  • What: FIS Cross-Country World Cup in Falun, Sweden


Friday, March 17: 10km Individual Classic (Find more details here)

  • 12:00 CET: 10km Individual C, Women
  • 13:45 CET: 10km Individual C, Men 

Saturday, March 18: Sprint Freestyle (Find more details here)

  • 10:50 CET: Sprint Quali F, Men
  • 10:50 CET: Sprint Quali F, Women 
  • 13:20 CET: Sprint Final F, Men
  • 13:20 CET: Sprint Final F, Women

Sunday, March 19: 4x5km Mixed Relay C/F (Find more details here)

  • 11:15 CET: 4x5km Relay C/F, Mixed Team 

New this season is the same race distances for women and men in all World Cup events, as the International Ski & Snowboard Federation (FIS) decided in May. Several other changes have also been introduced to the World Cup.

Read More: Cross-Country Skiing Changes And World Cup Calendar For The 2022/2023 Season

Also Read: New Distances At The Cross-Country Skiing World Cup 

Most read
Become a member now